University of Maryland School of Music
Burkart-Phelan, Inc.


Ticketed Meal Events

The NFA convention hosts three special ticketed meal events that provide an opportunity for renowned speakers and honorees to share their wisdom and perspective with flutists of all backgrounds. These mealtime events are a terrific way to new and returning members to deepen their social and musical connections and share in camaraderie and artistic inspiration. Break at midday on Friday for the Flute Lovers’ Lunch, start Saturday morning with Food for the Day’s Journey (formerly the Teachers’ Breakfast), and spend Saturday evening in celebration at the Gala Awards Dinner. We invite you to join us!

Flute Lovers’ Lunch with PROJECT Trio

PROJECT Trio!Join other flute lovers for a casual meal and get to know the dynamic PROJECT Trio! Ensemble members Greg Pattillo, flute; Peter Seymour, double bass; and Eric Stephenson, cello; will tell the story of how they began performing as a group. The presentation will also include a discussion about entrepreneurship and the role of the 21st Century Musician.

Friday, August 11, 11:30 a.m., $50 per person.

Food for the Day’s Journey with Leone Buyse

Leone BuyseFor this year’s Food for the Day’s Journey breakfast, educator and performer Leone Buyse will present "The Value of Empathy in Teaching.” What we say as teachers is important; how we say it is even more so. Drawing from five decades of teaching experience, Leone Buyse will suggest ways to create a fruitful learning environment that motivates and inspires.

Guests are invited to hear Buyse’s inspirational words over a hearty breakfast. Anyone with an appreciation for pedagogy, whether as a student, teacher, or enthusiast, is welcome to attend this event.

Food for the Day’s Journey is presented by the Pedagogy Committee. Previous speakers have included Bonita Boyd (2016), Paula Robison (2015), Angeleita Floyd (2014), Jim Walker (2013), Walfrid Kujala (2012), Brooks de Wetter-Smith (2011), and Tadeu Coelho (2010). 

Saturday, August 12, 8 a.m., $40 per person.

NFA Gala Awards Dinner

Ervin MonroeThe NFA Annual Gala Awards Dinner will honor 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients Ervin Monroe and Laurie Sokoloff and Distinguished Service Award Recipient Linda Mintener.
Ervin Monroe’s multifaceted career in the flute world has spanned performance, teaching, and entrepreneurship. Following his studies at Oberlin Conservatory and Manhattan School of Music, Monroe became principal flutist of the Detroit Symphony Orchestra in 1968. During his 40-year tenure there, he maintained an active schedule of teaching, conducting and chamber performances. His ventures into music arrangement soon led to him to the publications business, and in the early 70s, he founded Little Piper Press. Beginning in 1975, he also acted as a consultant to Muramatsu Flutes, a Japanese flute manufacturer. In 1995 Monroe became President of Muramatsu America, the exclusive importer and distributor for Muramatsu flutes in North America. Monroe also served as NFA President and Program Chair and was instrumental in the creation of The Flutist Quarterly, the NFA’s member magazine.

Laurie Sokoloff
photo by Christian Colberg

The daughter of two prominent musicians, Laurie Sokoloff began studying music early in life. She was accepted to study at Curtis Institute of Music with William Kincaid at the age of 14. Before graduating from college, Sokoloff was already performing professionally with Philadelphia’s two opera companies and the Pennsylvania ballet. In 1969, she landed the position as solo piccoloist in the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, where she remained for 47 years. In 2001, Sokoloff began teaching at Peabody Conservatory and is known for her warm and collaborative approach with students. She served as chair of the NFA’s Piccolo Committee and played a central role in commissioning new works. At the 2000 NFA convention in Columbus, she premiered “The High and the Mighty,” a piece written for her by Michael Daugherty. Sokoloff also served as coordinator of the Piccolo Artist Competition.

Linda MintenerLinda Mintener is a flutist and private flute instructor in the Madison, Wisconsin area. She graduated cum laude from Indiana University School of Music, where she studied with James Pellerite and Harry Houdeshel. She later continued her studies with Robert Cole at the University of Wisconsin and attended the University of Wisconsin Law School. Until her retirement, she worked for 28 years as a litigator of large claim sales tax cases for the Wisconsin Department of Revenue. Mintener performs regularly as a soloist and as a member of various ensembles, including the Madison Flute Choir. She also coordinates the Chinese Orphans Project of the First Baptist Church in Madison and organizes benefit concerts on its behalf. For the past 14 years, Mintener has served as the NFA’s Legal Counsel, the one place she is happy to be recognized as both a lawyer and a musician.

“Please join the NFA in honoring Ervin Monroe, Laurie Sokoloff, and Linda Mintener and celebrating their contributions to the flute community! Attendance at the NFA Gala Awards Dinner entitles you to reserved premium seating at the Gala Concerto Concert immediately following the dinner. In addition, over 30% of your ticket price is a tax-deductible gift to the NFA General Endowment Fund. Reunite with old friends, meet new friends, and support the NFA – what could be better?”

—Wendy Mehne, Gala Awards Dinner Chair

Saturday, August 12, 5:45 p.m., $125 per person, $40 tax-deductible, table of 10 - $1,100.