August 2008 Convention
Kansas City, MO

High Winds Flute Orchestra Opening Concert

John Bailey

The 2008 NFA Convention opened with a performance of the NFA High Winds Flute Orchestra, conducted by John Bailey. This group is comprised of 100–200 convention attendees rehearsing for a few hours the day before the convention opens. The program opened with an exciting fanfare called Flourishes, by Kathy Farmer, and continued with a transcription of Hebrides Overture (Fingal’s Cave), Op. 26, by Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy, arranged by Rick Pierce; the lovely Fantasia on “Land of the Silver Birch,” by Nancy Nourse; “Dance of the Comedians” from The Bartered Bride, by Bedrich Smetana, arranged by Ricky Lombardo; original composition Renaissance for a New Millennium, by Ricky Lombardo; and the Pastoral and Intermezzo movements from L’Arlesienne, by Georges Bizet, arranged by Shaul Ben-Meir. The program ended with the poignant and beautiful By Kells Waters, by Kelly Via and the energetic Mock Morris, by Percy Grainger, arranged by Claudia Bissett.

—Phyllis Louke