August 2008 Convention
Kansas City, MO

The Young Artist Winners

Winners of the 2008 National Flute Association’s Young Artist Competition are, from left, Daniel Velasco, from Ecuador, a student of Angeleita Floyd at the University of Northern Iowa, winning the $5,000 first prize; Sarah Frisof, a DMA candidate and student of Amy Porter at the University of Michigan, winning the $2,500 second prize; and Swedish flutist Pethrus Gardborn, who studies with Bradley Garner at the Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music, winning the $1,000 third prize.

—Irene Pruzan