Menu Search

Adult Amateur Competition

Click here, to begin your application. Click here to view a video on how to apply. 

The Adult Amateur Competition is open to all flutists who do not make and have not made their primary income as flute performers and/or educators. Flutists who are currently enrolled in a music degree program are considered students, not amateurs. Two winners will be selected and will have the opportunity to be featured in an NFA virtual event in Fall of 2023.

Competition Requirements*

  • All flutists must be current NFA members at the time the entry is submitted. To join or renew, go to
  • Completed entry
  • Uploaded files
  • $55 entry fee (paid during submission process)

All entrants must submit their entry, upload recordings/supplemental materials, and pay competition and membership fees by 11:59 p.m. Central Standard Time, Tuesday, March 7, 2023.

Recorded Round Repertoire

Each piece should be uploaded as a separate file. All uploaded files must be audio recordings. No videos are allowed.

Required Repertoire:

  • Alfredo Casella, Barcarola et Scherzo Op. 4 (any edition)

Select one piece from the following list:

  • Allison Loggins-Hull, Homeland (
  • Claude Pascal, Six Pièces variées pour Flûte et Piano (Durand). Choose any three movements.

All Recorded Round repertoire must be recorded WITH accompaniment.

* Competitions are subject to all rules and regulations on this page as well as the 2023 General Competition Information and Rules and Regulations. Incomplete entries will be subject to disqualification.


Christina Condon